Skip to main content

This is your Donation message.



MoFA originated as the Fine Arts Gallery for Florida State University’s School of Visual Arts. In 1971, the gallery moved into 16,000 square feet of exhibition, art storage, and work spaces in the newly-constructed Fine Arts Building, which continues to house the museum.  The gallery’s collecting, curation, research, and publishing programs evolved over time, and, in 1994, the gallery was redesignated as MoFA. MoFA was first accredited by the American Alliance of Museums (AAM) in 2003, and AAM granted reaccreditation in 2012 (through 2026). The Museum is currently home to more than 6000 works by historical and contemporary artists, including recent gifts by such notable artists as Deborah Butterfield, Judy Chicago, Robert Rauschenberg, David Levinthal, and Andy Warhol.

Current Advisory Committee Members:

Scott Schamp
Interim and Assoc. Dean, College of Fine Arts
Jeff Broome
Chair, Art Education
Stephanie James
Chair, Art
Brad Brock
Interim Director, School of Theatre
Adam Jolles
Chair, Art History
Anjali Austin
Interim Chair, School of Dance
Jessica Comas
Director of Development, CFA
Preston McLane
Director, Museum of Fine Arts
Lisa Waxman
Chair, Department of Interior Architecture & Design